Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Market committee polls today

SILCHAR, Oct 13: Election for Cachar District Regulated Market Committee (CDRMC) under Assam State Agriculture Marketing Board will be conducted tomorrow. The entire Cachar district has been divided into 163 gaon panchayats constituting seven agricultural constituencies and three traders’ constituencies. Out of the seven constituencies of Cachar district, candidate of the fifth agricultural constituency and three traders’ constituency is uncontested till now.

It is to be mentioned that CDRMC polls are being contested for the first time in Cachar district. The farmers are the contestants who submitted their nomination papers to the election authority –– CDRMC chairman and Cachar DC Gautam Ganguly. Altogether 19 candidates are contesting the polls this time. Moreover, the election authority in Cachar district for CDRMC polls is a three-member board, consisting of the Cachar District Agriculture officer who is also the member secretary of the Deputy Registrar Cooperative Society and the Cachar DC.

A polling station has been selected per constituency and the voters are the 1,400 gaon panchayat members of Cachar district. The poll boxes, election observers and retarding officers have already been deployed at the respective polling centres till now.

Police personnel will be deployed tomorrow at the six polling zones in Cachar district, said District Agricultural officer cum member secretary Subrata Bhattacharjee to this correspondent of The Sentinel in a personal interview in Silchar today. THE SENTINEL

No comments:

Search News and Articles

Custom Search